This Week’s Find: Boiling Crab

thehungrydude Experience: Crawfish & Shrimp Heaven

Sunday is my “eat whatever I want” day. I used to workout 4-5 times a week and a trainer told me once “Make sure you have one day out of the week to eat whatever the heck you want. If you don’t do that, then you’ll eventually cave and end up eating whatever you want every single day.” Basically I engrained in my brain that Sunday was the day to eat whatever I desired.

Today is Sunday and I’m on a mission to find the tastiest, easy on the wallet, and enjoyable meal ever.

Phone Conversation:

Me: What do you feel like eating?

A.K.: Let’s go to Boiling Crab.

Me: Is it any good?

A.K.: OMG you haven’t tried Boiling Crab??!?!? We have to go! It’s so good!

Me: How much is it per person?

A.K.: I checked on Yelp and it has two dollar signs. One dollar sign is really cheap. Two dollar signs is ok.

Whatever what “ok” equals into a dollar amount, my mind was set to go. So CY, CC, AK and I headed out to Alhambra, CA for some Boiling Crab. One piece of advice, let someone that drives safely drive. The way back home might make you want to puke after you eat all those shrimps and crawfish.

[At our destination in 15 minutes. HUGE crowd waiting outside]

Me: What the hell? Hurry up and put our name on the list. I need to pee!

[After 45 minutes server calls us in and we get seated]

The aroma of the seafood overwhelms me. My stomach begins to make hunger sounds. My mouth waters. My nose flares. My eyes pop wide open to see what people are eating.  My ears attentive to what others are ordering.

Tips and Rules for Boiling Crab

1. Wear the bib. You’ll need it. Maybe you’re an expert crawfish cracking master but do you trust those you came with?

2. Prepared for your hands to be completely drenched in butter, garlic, and seasoned sauce.

3. There are no plates.

4. Seafood comes in a bag full of seasoning, butter and garlic.

5. Don’t get the sweet potato fries.

6. Be prepared to wait a long time.

As soon as I posted on Facebook that I was going to Boiling Crab, I had immediate responses and tips for this joint. I listened to all of you and I thank each and every one of you for the advice.

Amongst the 4 of us we ordered 2 pounds of shrimp, 1 pound of crawfish, 1/2 dozen oysters, cajun fries, and 5 corns(they throw the corn in the bag with the seasoning. soooooo delish!)

The cajun fries were crisp and seasoned to utter perfection. Killed more than half of the basket before our food came out.

Then the server brought a plastic bag full of shrimps and crawfish with “the whole shabang” seasoning. There are 4 types of seasoning. Rajun Cajun, Lemon Pepper, Garlic Butter and  The Whole Shabang(combination of the first 3 seasonings and most recommended). We asked for medium spicy but quite honestly, it wasn’t spicy enough. For you spice experts, ask for the spicy seasoning.

[Warning: The following content is inappropriate for readers under 18. Please skip to the bottom of the blog.]

The crawfish was quite a bit of work for that little piece but it was well worth it. I dipped the crawfish into the bag full of seasoning and tossed it into my mouth. As my tongue was introduced to all 3 seasonings, spices and garlic my face began to flush red. I felt a rush through my spine from my neck to my lower back. I was in utter flavor euphoria. Is this what crack addicts feel when they take their first hit? I instantly became an addict to the sauce. Without knowing I began to lick the sauce off my fingers and dug my hand into the bag for more.

Before I knew it, my hands were drenched in sauce and my face was splattered with crawfish guts. Then I tried the shrimp. Succulent, juicy, tender and steaming hot. Just the way I like it. Am I in seafood heaven? Quite possibly.

Then we ordered a basket of sweet potato fries. Don’t order it. It doesn’t go well with the seafood. Stick with the cajun fries. The oysters were average. Nothing to rave over.

[Tapping out]

Bag full of shrimps, seasoning, and corn

Bag full of shrimps, seasoning, and corn

Inside the bag. Shrimps, crawfish and corn.

Inside the bag. Shrimps, crawfish and corn.

Cajun Fries

Cajun Fries

Half Dozen Oysters

Half Dozen Oysters

Summary

Experience: 4 stars: Waiting almost an hour dropped it 1 star

Taste: 4 stars: Would have been 5 stars but didn’t enjoy the Sweet Potato Fries

Price: 5 stars: It cost us $15 per person(including the tip)

Overall, you can’t beat the combination of the price, taste, and quantity of food compared to other seafood restaurants. You really get your moneys worth here.

The Boiling Crab

742 W Valley Boulevard
AlhambraCA 91803

Boiling Crab is currently located only in California and Texas.

- Special thanks to Ann for suggesting the Boiling Crab –

Til next time, ciao!

“I eat to live to eat again!” – thehungrydude

5 responses to “This Week’s Find: Boiling Crab

  1. u didnt get the sausages?!

  2. i just realized you have your own style of critiquing food.. with some sense of humor. haha keep it cominggg

  3. storm, no i didnt :(

    I should have…

  4. and you didn’t get their fried catfish! bomb! anyhow, everyone tells me the one in oc is WAY better! come to the boiling crab down here with ian! if my dong seng works… the entire billed is comped!

  5. i agree with sunny. the catfish is BOMB.COM!!! perfectly fried on the outside, and flakey, soft, white meat on the inside….MmmMmM!

Leave a Reply

